Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A healthy diet is essential for proper physical and mental development of students. Although some guardians think that students should learn about the science of food and ways to prepare them, others are of the belief that more time should be spent on focusing important subjects. This essay will discuss both the viewpoints before finally giving a personal opinion.

There are numerous benefits of gaining knowledge on food. Pupils will be able to differentiate between the negative effects of consuming fast foods and the advantages of eating having a healthier diet which will aid them in leading healthier lifestyle and improve their concentration. In fact, students may also use their creativity in converting the junk foods to healthier ones. For example, in a research it was proven that replacing meat with soy gives equal amount of nutrition minus the amount of harmful fats which could lead to obesity and heart diseases in the long run. Moreover, they can also build a career as well as improve the society by creating awareness.

However, studying essential subjects also have their merits. In order to achieve good grades, school subjects are mandatory to study. These grades will in turn facilitate the students to get enrolled in prestigious educational institutions thereby leading to scoring better jobs with high paying remunerations and hence, living a comfortable and secure life.

To sum up, I firmly believe students should learn about food sciences including how to prepare them as it is vital for their overall development, which will eventually help them to concentrate more on the important subjects and create a healthy society.