Some people think that students who finished high school need to have a year of break or a holiday before continuing their study in a university. Do you agree or disagree?

This is a universally acknowledged fact that “learning is an essential part of a life” and education plays a pivotal role in this. Some people hold the opinion that students should take a year gap before joining a university. While, to some extent I also agree on this view point. Here, in the below essay I will try to enunciate on this fact with my own perception.

To begin with, there are multifarious benefits if students take a year gap in their studies. Firstly, in the break students can take a coaching for competitive entrance exams like CAT, GRE or maybe some government jobs. Obviously, full time coaching is not possible if they are attending a college. Secondly, a student can opt for a part time job and can earn sufficient money that can be useful for their higher studies especially a job is beneficial for all the youngsters who cannot afford the increasing fees of a university. Finally, taking a break would be beneficial in terms of reducing stress before the main college studies. After all for completing school studies adolescents had spend almost 12 years. By the contrast, others have the conflicting views.

As per them, if a student takes a holiday before continuing their studies, this trend can have adverse impacts. First and foremost taking a gap in academics is not considered better for white collar jobs such as on the position of a manager or above. Normally, companies give less preference to these candidates compared to those who are regular in studies. Admittedly, there can be a possibility that students can lose interest in their higher studies if they are earning sufficient money while doing a job during this period. Probably a gap of one year can bring more challenges to students in terms of a change in school or college syllabus that might be difficult than a previous year.

To recapitulate, by looking at the above facts in my opinion taking a break has more benefits compared to continuous study as students can devote time for an entrance exam and can do part time job to afford their higher studies fees.