Some people think that studying from the past offers no benefits to today’s life while others believe that history is a valuable source of information for us. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

History, while it fascinates some others pay no interest towards the same. It can be argued that there are many things one can study and learn from history, while there are others who would disagree.

Historians have a passion about events that occurred in the past. They study and publish journal articles to educate the public of their findings, interests and what can be deduced from such situations. For example, stories of the second world war and the gruesome killings of Hitler has been well documented. As a result populations in every country are aware of avoiding such situations and as a result would not vote for or elect a person of such character to rule a country. Similarly, learning about the discovery of radiation by Marrie Currie led scientists to venture deeper into the science of nuclear energy which has become an important energy source in certain countries. However, the knowledge that Marrie Currie succumbed to death as a result of exposure to radiation has led scientists to invent attire and technologies which would protect them from being exposed to such radiation and implement utmost safety measures in all nuclear power stations. Japan who relies heavily on nuclear power as their main source of energy is an example of learning from the past.

Furthermore, certain elements in history goes unnoticed. Fashion for example is one such entity. The reason being fashion is ever-changing and evolving simultaneously with change of seasons and generations. Therefore, rather than wasting time dwelling of fashion from the past, it is better to keep with changing times and what is current.

In conclusion, I believe there is much that can be learnt from history. Human behaviour, modern science which has evolved due to the discoveries made by Albert Einstein, Newton and Steven Hawking, to the modern motor car which has come a long way from the first car built by Karl Benz, are all lessons learnt from history.

Therefore, rather than choosing to be ignorant of the past history, I believe it is wiser to learn from the mistakes of the past and be knowledgeable. Afterall, knowledge is power.