Some people think that studying from the past offers no benefits to today’s life while others believe that history is a valuable source of information for us. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a contradiction in terms of historical valuable sources. One side thinks that it retains a trustworthy source of information, while other side do not. Of course, each side has some reasons make them believe on it, and I prefer the former side to the latter one.

By the rapid development of science and technology in the world today, people can do many things, which in the past they did not. The knowledge and the achievement they got are so huge only in recently decades. Especially, with the support of supercomputer, scientists find new drugs, new methods of medical treatment. For example, flu vaccination helps to save many babies, a thing that in the past people did not. Hence, they do not think too much about traditional method; they ignore ancestral achievement.

However, ancestral knowledge is still valuable nowadays; that is the field, which technology does not affect. Paper is an example for this case that people only copy of manufacture procedure from ancestor. The most important thing that people could learn from ancestor is survival skills such as fire survival, water survival, or navigation skill. These skills, which ancients invested and used themselves in thousand years, disappear in advanced living. Therefore, citizens in city or even in countryside should learn survival skills to save their life in emergency cases. In addition, scientists could use their advanced technology to check if ancient sources of information are correct or not before applying or using. It demonstrates the respect for ancestor, also save useful information for generators.

In conclusion, although people have the argument on ancestral valuable sources, I believe that these sources of information still have its valuation in some fields of today’s life.