Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

If you search for capital punishment around the world, you will find that many countries maintain the death penalty, including nations which have high human rights standards, such as America and Japan.. However, I personally am not in favor of the death penalty. I believe we should find alternative options, rather than using capital punishment as a means to control violence in society.

The purpose of capital punishment is to act as a deterrent to anyone who intends to perform a criminal act such as murder, illegal drug trading, slave trading, etc. This seems to be unconfirmed by any research of criminologists, but it is intuitive confirmation from many people. In addition, in executing criminals, they have no chance to break out of jail and kill or injure people. Hence, the community feels safer and becomes wealthier.

However, the death penalty has not been shown to be effective in the reduction of the crime rate. There are some indicators that executions actually increase the murder rate. Moreover, killing a murderer does not bring his victim back to life. It achieves nothing but the death of yet another person. In addition, if we sentence an innocent person instead of the real perpetrator, we can not correct our mistake. In fact, we have seen many such cases happen, and some nations beginning to consider abolishing capital punishment. The replacement punishment could be life sentencing, which takes into accounts human rights standards.

In conclusion, human life has intrinsic value, even if a person has killed another individual. And I favor abolishing death penalty for all crimes.