Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

In these years, the decision of couples to have the first kid later in their life has become an increasingly popular trend. There are a number of reasons for this trend, which is having a significant impact on both family life and society matter.

There are two important reasons why young couples nowadays are deciding not to have first kid when they are young. Firstly, it is general trend that as more women get higher education and enter the workforce, they marry and start kids later in their life. Secondly, delaying first birth could give young couples countless opportunities to enjoy their lives. For example, this choice may let young couples have a richer social life, pursue their interests and hobbies, or even to travel around the world.

However, this tendency could have negative consequences in term of both family scale and social scale. An important concern for a family is that growing up a child could be a huge challenge for old parents. Even though they might have a high socioeconomic status, as well as great experience and knowledge, it may not be easy for them to communicate with and relate to their children, due to the generation gap. Another negative factor is that getting pregnant too late after 35 years of age oftentimes carries more potential health risks for both fetuses and mothers. Specifically, this could increase the danger of having miscarriage or stillbirth for older mothers, and babies might be at greater risk of having Down’s syndrome. Consequently, this could negatively affect the quality of the future workforce and cause population imbalance.

In conclusion, there are variety reasons why more and more young couples prefer getting first time parents later in their life. As a result, there could be negative influences on family and the society as whole.