Some people think that studying from the past offers no benefits to today’s life while others believe that history is a valuable source of information for us. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The present is existed because there is a history. From the past mistakes, we can evolve ourselves and society by acknowledging of past mistakes. However, due to the fast pace of society and a massive information, knowing of historical events seem too much burden. In this essay will discuss both aspects on histories before reaching a reasonable conclusion.

People have developed society from the past mistakes or past events. For example, Edison failed more than 10,000 times to make a light bulb before he made a huge scientific breakthrough. This would be the same for other inventions and which helped to level off the standard of living. Nowadays, all the diversity of fields such as legislation, military, economy, science and philosophy are the results of the past mistakes. As a result of this, the recognition of the historical events is vital because it has a direct correlation between the present consequences.

We are currently residing in an information society. The amount of information and knowledge we are gathering a day is 100,000 times more than that of in 19th century. Because people are busy catching up with the current news and events, they would easily get lost track of the past events and as a result of this, the past information becomes irrelevant. Therefore, historical information is too much to follow on top of current news and it seems no benefits to current lifestyles.

In my opinion, while I understand that there is too much information to gather as we are currently living in an Information Age era, historical events is vital because the potential prevention can occur. For example, economy downturn occurs every 9 years and which can be prepared for the next economy depression. Since lifestyles are repetitive and periodic and as a result of this, knowing of historical events can be helpful to our lifestyles because we can prepare before any events occur.

In conclusion, even though there is humongous information is updated frequently and at a rapid rate, which creates the difficulty for people to adapt the past events, it is still important resource for today’s life. Thus, the past information is the foundation and can help to make today’s decision.