Some people think that subjects like arts, music, drama and creative writing contribute more towards a child's overall development. The school curriculum should provide more time for these subjects to be taught if the school wants all-round development of children.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

School is a place of overall development of a kid. This can be acheived only when schools include all subjects along with extra curricular activities like arts, music, drama and creative writing. Due to which, some people support the opinion that more time should be reserved for these subjects, while others donot agree with this. I, however agree with the former thought.

Every student is unique and posess special talent. It is very important for their teachers and parents to identify such skills and encourage kids to pursue it. Schools can aid this by investing more time on such activities along with regular study. This will enhance not only the creative abilities, but also help in shaping one's personality. For instance, music can help soothe and calm mind. It acts as a referesher, also playing musical instruments can increase one's concentration and multi-tasking abilities.

Additionally, experts believe that kids who engage themselves in different kinds of activities have better logical and rational thinking abilities when compared to other students, which in turn will lead to all-round development. Furthermore, student who are interested in specific subjects can start training early, and eventually can build their whole career around it. For example, when we see sportsman like Usain Bolt or Kobe who have peaked their careers, these people had identified their interest early in life and have followed it throughout.

In conclusion, a holistic approach is required to attain overall development of pupils and this can be achieved by providing equal time to all various subjects.