Some people think that success is the best measure for intelligence, while others think that intelligence can be measured in other ways. What is your opinion?

Like the definitions of intelligence, the measurement of intelligence is dogged by controversy and disagreement. It is argued by a group of people that the intellectual capacity of an individual is best measured by how successful he or she is, whereas opponents claim that there are other better ways to evaluate intelligence. In my opinion, success itself is a subjective term which cannot be quantified, therefore is not the best way to determine a man’s intellect. Intelligence would be assessed more reliably and adequately using a combined set of methods.

Success is attributable to various factors such as dedication, energy, time and connection. Although in the majority of cases, a successful person is smart, intelligence become does not equate to success. For instance, many gifted musicians do not make it to the hall of fame as they do not put enough effort to build relationships in the industry. So it is not persuasive to compare a well-known musician with his/her less famous counterpart to assess their musical ability.

There are multiple types of intelligence, and it is incomplete to judge someone’s talents by one of two factors alone. Skills which are related to emotions and senses such as interpersonal, naturalist and intrapersonal skills are difficult or even impossible to measure. For example, a person can be gifted at maths and also an excellent piano player but does not choose to pursue a career as a pianist. Therefore, it is irrelevant to evaluate his piano skills by his success in the field.

In conclusion, even though intelligence might be responsible for one’s success, neither success nor any single factor is the best method to evaluate intelligence. Personal circumstances and type of intellects should be taken into account to decide the most effective measurements.