Some people think that success is the best measure for intelligence, while others think that intelligence can be measured in other ways. What is your opinion?

Like the definitions of intelligence, the measurement of intelligence is causing controversy and disagreement. A group of people argue that the intellectual capacity of an individual is best measured by his level of success, whereas opponents claim that there are other better ways to evaluate intelligence. The way I see it is that success itself is a subjective term which cannot be quantified, and therefore it is not the best way to determine a man’s intellect. Intelligence would be assessed more reliably and adequately using a combined set of methods.

Everyone has their own definition of success, and even the same person define success differently during different stages in his or her life. Success is attributable to various factors such as dedication, energy, time and connection. Although in the majority of cases, it can be said that a successful person is certainly smart, intelligence does not solely responsible for success. For instance, there are many gifted musicians out there but not all of them made it to the hall of fame as they did not make enough effort to build relationships in the industry or their taste in music is not matched with the crowd. So it is not persuasive to compare a well-known musician with his/her less famous counterpart to assess their musical ability.

There are multiple types of intelligence, and it is incomplete to judge someone’s talents by one of two factors alone. Skills which are related to emotions and senses such as interpersonal, naturalist and intrapersonal skills are difficult or even impossible to measure. For example, a person can be gifted at maths and also an excellent piano player but does not choose to pursue a career as a pianist. Therefore, it is irrelevant to evaluate his piano skills by his success in the field.

In conclusion, even though success can be an indicator of intelligence, neither success nor any single factor is tailored to measure all sets of skills. The type of intelligence and personal circumstances should be taken into account when deciding proper measurements.