some people think universities should provide knowledge and skills related to a future career; others think the true function of university is to give access to knowledge for its own sake. what is your opinion of the main function of university?

The main purpose of tertiary education has engendered drastic controversy among public. While some people agree that university courses should be concerned with employment potentials, I am on board with the opinion that university education should mainly focus on the knowledge itself.

Advocate of vocational training might argue that providing occupational knowledge and skills would better equip students with essential background and help them quickly adapt to the working environment. However, the problem with such argument is that we are now living in a fast-changing world, and it is hard for university to predict precisely about the employment trend as well as the latest knowledge. For example, Information Technology engineers are required to study the most up-to-date computer languages and tools every year, since the world is changing and the skills they harnessed in tertiary education soon become outdated. So it would be a wast of time and resource if university focus on offering curriculums based on employment needs.

By contrast, providing knowledge regardless of the employment trend allows more career resilience, as it cultivates a range of cognitive abilities including creativity, analytical thinking as well as critical thinking which are pivotal in almost every phase of employment and every field of work. To illustrate, rather than being restricted by employment possibilities, students are encouraged to be open-minded and think outside the box, therefore honing creativity among young learners. Such abilities are valued more highly by employers than specific employment skills. Take a Chinese company Huawei for example, the company spent millions of dollars in 2019 to recruit talents from different fields to help with its technology innovation. The corporation made it clear that all disciplines were welcomed as long as they were equipped with high levels of creativity and free thinking. Therefore, in today’s world, what matters is not the specific knowledge or skills people acquires, but the abilities they are furnished with.

To conclude, I believe devising courses based on job market is not suitable for today’s fast changing working environment, and the main function of tertiary education should be to develop various abilities in students to help them better embrace the challenges in the working environment.