Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake. Regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university ?

Recently, the phenomenon of universities’ main function and its corresponding impacts have sparked a philosophical dispute. In this regard, some people are of the opinion that presenting variety of knowledge to students must be the true function of a university, rather than training skilled workers for companies. In my mind, providing students with practical knowledge and turning them into experts come first, in terms of graduates’ future life as well as inventing useful appliances.

Obviously, people around the four corners of the globe should acquire an appropriate occupation because of constituting a lovely family and providing their family with more comfortable life. Universities may be an answer. In several countries, particularly developing nations, graduation from a high-ranked university paves the way to grab a job accompanying with fairly high income and remunerations thanks to skills which be learnt the university.

In addition, equipping students by skills and practical knowledge, instead of mere theoretical ones, in universities leads to flourishment of their creativity. Hence, it is likely that a few graduates will come up with novel solutions by which scientists could alleviate the world’s such disasters as today’s covid19.

On the other hand, we shouldn’t lose sight of others’ viewpoint. Unlike the first group, they believe that considering pure knowledge is the true function of universities. Meanwhile, it is up to the students and graduations that how they like to utilize the provided knowledge. So, knowledge is a treasure in its own sake. Whereas loads of graduates will become a simple employee due to the lack of intelligent use of their learnt knowledge, a few students will be capable of pushing boarders of science far further, like Tesla and Einstein.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on both sides, I opt to support vigorously the idea that educating students via skills and practical knowledge rather than pure abstract knowledge is the ultimate function of educational institutions. Knowledge or skill, science or experience, which one will be the winner of this colossal battle?