Some people think we should keep all the money we earn and not pay tax to the state. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many people argued that they should retain all their incomes rather than paying some of them to the Government as taxes. However I completely disagree with this statement as paying taxes is a moral duty of each individual.

For a variety of reasons, it would be undoubtedly wrong to refuse to pay taxes to the state. Firstly, as there is a limitation to what an individual can achieve on their own, the development of the country and the betterment of the society such as renovating the social infrastucture or strengthening the national security and defense all come within the purview of responsibility of the country. Therefore, inhabitants are in charge of paying the share of money for the state budget. Secondly, the well-off people usually pay more taxes than the low income group, thereby, the balance of the society can be maintained in a fair way. Thus, the gap between the rich and the poor can be effectively narrowed, which positively advantages for both the economic and politicial stability of the country.

In addition to this, civilians will reap a wealth of benefits when the Government has the funds to spend on vital issues. First and foremost, the proceeds from taxes could be used to fund some form of social welfare services, which allows every social member to receive financial assistance, particularly the poor. For instance, by allocating these funds to education, underprivileged children could have opportunities of being provided with free entry to schools, thus eradicating illiteracy and shaking off the poverty. Moreover, in the future, the money they had paid in taxes would return to them as the retirement pension and health care, which allows subjects to enjoy and benefit some personal facilities from the Government. Thus, citizens are real beneficiaries when taxation systerm is effectively operated. If people keep their earning for themselves and ignore this civic duty, they will encounter more risks when they get older.

In conclusion, I would argue that it is the responsibility for every single citizen to pay taxes to the state and this would not only be advantageous for individuals but also contribute to the well-being of the country.