In many countries, students take a year gap after finishing school and work or travel during this period. Should students take a gap year before attending universities? What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?Give reasons for your answer and inclu

There are some debates as to whether senior high school graduates should take a gap year prior to enter higher education. To shine some light on matter, this essay will indicate some of the most dominant benefits and drawbacks that relevant to this issue.

On the one hand, taking a year long break from study has potential to be tremendously beneficial for students. Initially, as university life is an undeniably expensive one, there are an abundance of youngsters opting to spend a gap year on working to gather funds before beginning their study. This not only allows them to afford their living cost and tuition fees but also helps them focus on their academic work rather than struggle financially. For instance, The Time has recently reported that an average student at a UK university required more than $12000 per year just to survive and many dropped out because they could not afford to stay. Furthermore, a gap year can teach students more valuable life lessons than sitting in a classroom such as practical work experience, money and time management or living independently, which will in turn better prepare young individuals for independent study and living whilst at university. As a result, students will be able to build up their resume through the experiences gaining during a year off.

On the other hand, taking a twelve-month-break between high school and university might lead to several unprecedented consequences. First and foremost, because of taking a year out can add an extended period of time to an already potentially lengthy educational process, students might encounter a year behind in comparison with their peers who already be well settle into university life. Consequently, youngsters graduating a year later may miss the early start in future career or lose job opportunities with strict age requirement. For example, P&G only offers Management Trainee program for graduated students aging at 21 or 22 years old. Additionally, omit studying habits is an unavoidable circumstance, which negatively affects students' academic momentum. As a result, many tend to not return back to their life of study after a gap year. A recent survey by British Government found that 26% of youths who take a gap year after high school never entering tertiary education.

In conclusion, having a year long break from study can bring abundance of significant boons, however, there are also several unpredictable risks that young people need to consider on before giving decisions.