In a global economy, many goods, including what we use on a daily basis, are transported from other countries in a long distance. To what extent do you think its benefits exceed its drawbacks?

In this era of globalization and world trade and business, it seems to be a rise in importing daily commodities which have to be travelled to a long distance before reaching to consumers. Although there are still several drawbacks, the potential advantages they bring are quite overwhelming.

On the one hand, it should be admitted that there are a wealth of disadvanteges come with imported products. First and foremost, less demand for local merchandise means fewer job opportunities for the locals, which not only increases unemployment rate but also contributes to a drastic reduction in the community interaction between consumers and domestic providers. As a result, people struggle to make ends meet and it might cause an increase in society's vices and crime rate. If the indigenous labor force is utilized thoroughly, crimes are less likely to happen. Furthermore, due to the inclusion of imported taxes and logistic costs, products from foreign countries are prohibitively expensive in comparision with the local ones. This allows a large amount of Vietnamese currency to flow abroad.

On the other hand, delivering goods oversea provides humans with various benefits. Initially, some countries are better for agriculture, some for industrial productions such as mining industry or food processing and some others for technologies. Thus, importing and exporting allows inhabitants of each nation to enjoy a variety of products that cannot be manufactured in their country, which really satisfies their needs. For instance, about a decade ago, Vietnamese hardly saw blueberry fruit which is from European countries but thanks to the global trade, it now has a palce in every fruit stand. Secondly, as the nations have been intensifying the import and export, the economic cooperation and development and diplomatic relations among them will become closer. This not only fosters the prosperity of the national economy but also reduces the incidence of armed conflicts. If countries are independent upon one another’s economy, frays would be more likely with the antagonistic relationship between the United States and Iran is a typical example.

In summary, although importing goods has both negative and positive consequences, its merits far exceed its demerits.