Some people think that work is the most important thing of people’s life. Without the success of career, life will become meaningless. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether only success in work makes life become meaning remains a resource of controversy in these days. While a number of people pursuing their line of work which is considered as the most important thing in their life, I would argue that career is just the one of many aspects that together could have effects on our life’s fulfillment.

Firstly, our planet has various kinds of people with different strengths as well as weaknesses. Some of them fortunately could realize happiness in working, that make they feel work just like their hobbies but not responsibilities. For instance, almost of doctors who devote their whole life to save others have to experience a long term of continuous study, research as well as practices. I believe their achievements in career are greatly significant in this case. However, by contrast, some others recognize that working is nothing but a way to earn money, used to facilitate for upgrading living quality. Thus, many rich people, who succeed in their profession are not always happy with their life, still find themselves lonely in a crowd.

In addition, according to Maslow demand chart, five aspects that make people feel satisfied, including orderly physiological demand (food, water, sex, home, rest), safety, social and relative relationships, esteem and last but not least self- actualization. Self-actualization occurs when you maximize your potential, doing the best that you are capable of doing, which may be your job, favorite activities such as volunteer, travel, painting, or even something ambiguous. Success in career definitely makes us joyful, but to meet human’s fulfillment, we need more than that. It is when people can accept themselves, together with all their flaws, prioritize and enjoy the journey, not just the destination. For example, a housewife who sets focus on raising her children, cook meals for her family completely could have a meaningful life and no need to be a powerful business woman.

In sum, working may be a method for us to have money and high social status. However, without success in career, people’s life still could be meaningful by a variety of activities which depend on our choice and attitude toward life.