Some people think that the world should have one government rather than the national government. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a noticeable debate about whether our world should have a single united government. While one united government can benefit our population to a certain extent, I would argue that its disadvantages do outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, one government on our planet has some undoubted benefits to the whole community. To begin with, unifying under a global government can facilitate cross-national traveling as tourists may not have to acquire cumbersome travel documents. It is much easier to travel to other exotic areas since tourists no longer have to use passports or approval letters on arrival. This can possibly reduce time-consuming in the lounge area in the airports. Additionally, one world-state could encourage member countries to contribute collectively to solve common problems. For example, there are many international crimes but due to the complex condition among countries and the cumbersome documents when opening an inquiry in other foreign countries, lots of crimes are still free in the community. Then if a global state is created, police can catch the offenders easier.

On the other hand, these advantages are eclipsed by the disadvantages when it comes to having a global government. First, there may be a loss of individual cultural identities because of homogenization, especially relating to language. As the integration among different nations increases, people tend to keep up with the major trend as well as learn the major language, Consequently, their own religions and traditions could be destroyed and disappeared. Second, a world federation can lead to some serious conflicts in certain parts of the population. Smaller or poorer nations may feel they are not fairly represented in a world authority. When gathering into one authority, many dominant countries will take the higher position and other poorer ones must follow their decision. The United States and China are prime examples. They can monopolize in most of the international financial ranks so their speech in some global meeting can change the whole world.

In conclusion, although a world state may have some benefits, it seems to me that this action still poses lots of significant disadvantages that governments should take into great consideration.