Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Are disadvantages of this requirement greater than the benefits for the community and individuals?

I completely believe that it is critical to involve young people in volunteer activities. The primary issues will be discussed with examples in this essay.

On the one hand, I strongly agree that some people think all teenagers should be obliged to do unpaid work in their spare time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual adolescents and society as a whole. The first reason is that young people can have many individual experiences while doing these jobs. Therefore, they can look for work to learn more about the profession they are studying, understand it, and become acquainted with it. Apart from service-learning, teens also assist their parents and contribute to the cost of living and a part of tuition. For example, if teenagers want to become teachers, they can participate in teaching primary children in a support role. This will help them learn how to become confident and present themselves to strangers. Besides that, they will learn how to teach so that students can understand the lesson. Thereby, teenagers can pay half of the tuition for parents and also learn how to take responsibility for everything.

On the other hand, I disagree that most youngsters study under pressure, and they have a range of homework and revisions they must do. They should study hard to have a chance to apply for the job later, and they don’t want to waste their time at work, which will make them feel more tired and maybe depressed. In addition, teenagers can enjoy time when they are still young.

In conclusion, I believe that adolescents always want to learn something new besides studying, and they don’t want their parents to be miserable. They should have a responsibility to themselves to succeed and become good people in the future.