Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People remain divided over the role of zoos. While some people believe that zoos have a crucial role to play in the protection of wildlife, the others would argue that keeping wild animals in such places is cruel and unnecessary. From my perspective, I agree with the idea that animals should not be kept in captivity and that zoos should be shut down.

On the one hand, there are several reasons to believe that zoos play an important role in protecting wild animals. Firstly, zoos could contribute to the preservation of endangered species by keeping them safe from poachers and other threats such as their predators, habitat destruction and the spread of urbanization. Secondly, given the fact that in the wild, some animals find difficulty finding mates and breeding, many zoos have run breeding programs to support them in these activities. Thirdly, thanks to zoos, people and animals are brought together. This exposure would not only help people develop a deeper understanding of wild animals but also foster an appreciation of the animals. As a result, more and more people will participate in the protection of wildlife.

However, I doubt the effectiveness of zoos in saving animals because of the following reasons. First and foremost, I am of the opinion that it would be more beneficial for animals to live in their natural habitat rather than be locked up in cages for their entire life. Since the animals are deprived of their natural habitat and social structure, many of them can not acclimatize themselves to the new environment; therefore, they can not survive. Additionally, in some zoos, animals are mistreated; for instance, they are provided with insufficient food and medical care. This cause many animals in these zoos to die due to starvation and diseases. Secondly, removing individuals from the wild may endanger the wild population because the remaining individuals will be less genetically diverse and will have trouble finding mates. Lastly, if zoos are constructed predominantly for entertainment purpose, they could teach the young generation that confining animals in zoos for our own sake is acceptable.

In conclusion, although some zoos may have some positive impacts on the conservation of animals, I think that they do more harm than good.