Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While a school of thought holds that zoos have a crucial role to play in the protection of wildlife, others claim keeping wild animals in such places is cruel. From my perspective, I agree with the idea that animals should not be kept in captivity and that zoos should be shut down.

On the one hand, there are several reasons to believe that zoos play an important role in protecting wild animals. Firstly, zoos could contribute to the preservation of endangered species by keeping them safe from poachers and their predators. Secondly, given the fact that in the wild, some animals have difficulty finding mates and breeding, many zoos have run breeding programs to support them in these activities. Thirdly, thanks to zoos, people and animals are brought together. This exposure could not only help people develop a deeper understanding of wildlife but also instill in them a love of animals. As a result, more people would participate in the protection of wild animals.

However, I doubt the effectiveness of zoos in saving animals. First and foremost, it would be more beneficial for animals to live in their natural habitat rather than be locked up in cages for their entire life. Since the animals are deprived of their natural habitat, many of them can not acclimatize themselves to the new environment; therefore, they can not survive. Furthermore, in some zoos, animals are provided with insufficient food and medical care, which likely causes them to die due to starvation and diseases. Lastly, if zoos are constructed predominantly for entertainment purposes, they may teach the young generation that confining animals in zoos for our own sake is acceptable.

In conclusion, although zoos could make contributions to the conservation of animals, I am convinced that they might be counterproductive; therefore, they should be close down.