Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed. However, some people think that zoos are useful for protecting rare animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a highly controversial issue that in terms of protecting rare animals, whether zoos should be maintained or closed. This essay is going to discuss both sides in further detail and I will give my personal view in the conclusion.

On the one hand, there are those who claim that keeping animals in zoos is an ethically and morally wrong activities to conserve animals’ lives. Firstly, wildlife animals need to live in forests, jungles, and so forth in order to develop normally. Indeed, instead of maintaining their lives in narrow cages can lead to a decrease in reproduction rate,the main reason for their extinction, animals should be free to enjoy wildlife habitats. Secondly, animals live in zoos, which means they depend on food and shelters of human, so they lack survival skills. To illustrate, owing to the support and taking care of humans, tigers in zoos just lay all days and wait for people to feed them, which can lead to disappearing of running and preying skills.

On the other hand, other people maintain that using zoos are an effective measure to preserve endangered species from vanishing. The primary reason is that conserving rare animals in zoos can help individuals gain full-scale awareness of protecting wildlife animals. In fact, some schools have a tendency to organize extra-curricular activities for students in zoos, therefore, children can be taught about endangered animals and how to protect them with clear examples. An additional reason is that zoos are ideal places for animals to avoid extinction from overhunting and overfishing. One of reasons for the disappearing of some kinds of fauna stems from illegal hunting actions. That the reason why cramped as zoos are, zoos can protect and nurture rare species.

In conclusion, while living in natural habitats can enhance the development of wildlife animals, I hold a firm conviction that some kinds of species nowadays face with the extinction phenomenon, hence, zoos should play an integral role to conserve their lives.