Some people use technology to take advice for their medical problems rather than seeing a doctor. Why is this so? Is is a positive or a negative development according to you?

Many individuals are making use of technology such as the internet to seek medical advice instead of visiting a doctor. There are many reasons behind this, however, in my opinion, it is a negative development.

Internet offers many benefits to the patients. Firstly, browsing information on the internet is immensely time-saving. Nowadays, people are living hectic lives, as a result of which, they can barely afford to waste their time in visiting doctors or while standing in seemingly endless queues. Secondly, hefty bills charged by the medical institutions deter patients from visiting them, because of which they turn to internet for advice, which is offered free of cost. Lastly, many websites allow patients to consult various experts and other people for health related queries due to which they do not see the benefit in vising a doctor personally.

Nevertheless, it is a negative trend because of the following reasons. To begin with, internet is brimming with misleading information that can be detrimental to a person's health. There are certain websites and blogs that advocate self-medication, which can have a plethora of nasty side effects and can even escalate the problem. Also, no doubt that trivial ailments such as common cold and cough can be treated with "cyber-medication", however, precarious diseases such as cancer, require immediate personal medical attention. Similarly, in case of conditions such as heart attack, it is vital to rush the patient to a doctor rather checking online for a cure. Finally, it is strongly suggested that in case of matters concerning a person' s health, nothing parallels the expertise of a medical professional. They are the only ones who can correctly diagnose and disease/condition and suggest a suitable course of treatment.

In conclusion, many people use internet to seek medical advice because of the various advantages it offers, nevertheless, in my belief, it is a negative development.