Some people want the main purpose of television should be education while others think that TV should be for entertainment only Discuss both sides and give your opinion

It is said that people hold conflicting views about the best purpose of television. While a number of inhabitants believe that TV should be educative, some others think that TV should serve viewers' need of entertainment. This essay is going to analyze the reasons behind these two views before showing why I favor both of these.

On one hand, one of the advantages of TV with only educative shows is that TV will help its viewers broaden their horizon easily. For instance, if a child is interested in animals, he will find suitable channels about this topic such as: Discovery Channel, National Geographic in order to deepen his own understanding about it. Consequently, everyone can have such great knowledge about their interests, professions and any others thing that they want to. Another point is that government can cooperate with schools and parents to find out more ways of teaching children. To be more specific, there can be channels in which teachers can give lessons of compulsory subjects and therefore students can review the lessons or even study again if they did not understand the lessons at school clearly.

On the contrary, TV with entertaining channels has some reasonable advantages as well. For example, after a hardworking day, we will find something which is entertaining to cool down and reduce stresses. Moreover, broadcasters can use entertainment to give viewers some important messages. To take an example, nowadays, instead of using documentaries to show the importance of the nature, broadcasters tend to use comedy or reality shows in which include the message of protecting the Earth, this meets the viewers' demand of both entertainment and humanity.

All in all, TV shows should be both educative and entertaining. Broadcasters should do their best to balance these to elements to provide best thing to see to viewers.