Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent

do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some ex-offenders can become particularly useful citizens for society after being released from prison. While I agree that those individuals are good role models to prevent children from committing offences, I also believe that there are better alternatives to this issue. The justifications for this are as follows.

On the one hand, I think that children are more convinced of the advice from ex-prisoners who can speak from real experience they have undergone. In other words, reformed offenders can tell teenagers about their involvement in illicit activities and the hazards of leading a criminal lifestyle. As a result, those vivid stories could help to dispel any misconceptions of youngsters about many wrongdoers’ glamorous lives and act as a deterrent to effectively combat crime among young people.

On the other hand, it is also my personal belief that a combination of various education methods would produce much more desirable outcomes. To embark on, as home environment has such an extremely profound impact on the development of a child, parents are those who should be responsible for raising children’s awareness of different social maladies as well as teaching them how to avoid them. This way, a significant proportion of teenagers would be deterred from violating the laws as they grow up. Furthermore, crime education in school is not to be overlooked, and a healthy education environment should also be promoted nationwide, thereby contributing to crime tackle.

By way of conclusion, although I agree speech given by those who turn over a new leaf after serving a prison sentence can be helpful, I also support the view that many other measures should not be neglected.