Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some people think that having these people to give a talk to school students is the best way to tell them about dangers of committing a crime. Do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary life, many citizens think that well-behaviour inmates should have a discussion with young adults to warn them about the bad effects of being sent to prison. While I accept that a speech of prisoners has many advantages, it is not to say that it is the best way to educate children about crimes.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why I agree that a talk between criminals and students is beneficial to teach them about the harm of being sent to prison. First, engaging face-to-face with who has experienced would be more effective than a theoretical lesson. By telling the story in prison, all troubles or difficulties of committing a crime could be transmit from inmates to students, which could be more reasonable for teenagers to accept their advices and avoid some anti-social behaviors. Second, it could be also a beneficial arrangement for prisoners after releasing from prison. People who was punished by the law would feel more connected with the society and be even glad for doing something well, leading to decrease the recidivism rate.

However, some viable measures should be taken by families and government to tackle their increasing crime rate. First, parents should have some methods to educate their offspring in the right way. Because the main influence of crime stems is from a lack of a moral compass, which is often passed on from parents onto children from their early ages, for example, family violence, failure of parental controls or poverty would cause illegal activities. Second, the government should have population planning such as birth control policy and create more works for citizens. In fact, other extrinsic factor leading to crime is overpopulation which increase the competitiveness for job opportunities; therefore, unemployees could be prone to have some anti-social behaviors to make ends meet.

In conclusion, though there are many advantages of a discussion between inmates and school students, it seems to me that it would better for children to do other methods.