Some psychologists think that the best way to overcome the stress of everyday life is to spend a portion of the day doing absolutely nothing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a remarkable increase in the number of psychologists who believe that people ought to do nothing at all for a break time of the day in order to cope with stress. This essay will delve both sides of this view before drawing a reasonable conclusion. I definitely disagree with this idea because to do nothing might increase stress level due to feelings of asocialisation, alienation, and even depression.

Admittedly, the negative implications of to do nothing are often discussed in terms of two key areas, which are creativity and productivity. Perhaps the main drawbacks of this advice is that employees’ creativity decrease, which in turn leads to mental problems, such as depression. According to a report published by the New York Times, creative works are the quickest way to get rid of negative energy and workplace stress in the Apple Company. Secondly, to do nothing at all for a period time affects not only creativity but also productivity. A good illustration of this is that workers who spend more time on resting are more predisposed to be less productive. Hence, both people and employers ought to be prudent because to spend a lot of time on break might increase stress level rather than decrease.

Despite these arguments, the benefits of to do nothing at all for a period of time of the day should not be underestimated. The primary advantage of this is that there is a pronounced correlation between the amount of happiness hormones and break time. Therefore, when people give a break, their brains release either melatonin or serotonin. For instance, people who suffer from work stress could easily cope with negative energy through these hormones in a national bank. Thus, working without any break time might be perilous for people’s mental health.

In conclusion, the decision as to whether which method is more useful in order to overcome stress must be taken in the context of entire psychologists. However, my personal view is that waiting without do anything can lead some psychological problems.