Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of traveling to a work place every day.

Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, advancement in technology enables people to work directly from their homes. While some people argue that this approach has significant drawbacks, to my mind advantages of this policy far outweigh disadvantages.

On the one hand, an implementation of home-working may cause some issues with communication. For example, great team work and collaboration between staff members are essential in some workplaces. However, without face-to-face conversations these can be hardly achieved. Moreover, this policy might encounter employers to the problems related to employees’ performance. Employees might be distracted by domestic works or by other family members, which obviously will have a negative effect on their work.

On the other hand, this introduction might provide employers with much flexible range of applicants. For example, some people do not have an opportunity to travel to their workplaces every day because of a newborn child, but at home they can attend to their duties and look after their children simultaneously. another example is that it is much convenient for disabled people to work without having to travel. another advantage is that people save time, which is spent on trip from home to workplace. this time may be spent on more useful business.

In conclusion, even though there are some disadvantages of home-working, such as less communication between workers and distraction of employees’ from their work, I think that advantages as wider range of applicants and more rational use of time outweigh them.