Some school offer courses on the Internet so people can study online. Is this a positive or negative trend? Use your own reasons and arguments to write an essay of 250 words about this topic.

It is a common belief that Internet-platform-based lessons lead a handful of shortcomings due to several reasons. However, there is a more persuasive argument that this distant learning is becoming an encouraging trend since it encompasses a wide range of benefits.

On the one hand, there are some disadvantages of e-learning classes. Without austere control, students who don’t have self-discipline may easily lose track of the course due to the tempting contents on Internet and environment. Therefore, they might not catch up with lessons and it turns out it is a waste of time for either the class or the teacher.

What is more, learners are not be able to participate actively in discussion, which causes them lack personal interaction with their teachers and classmates. For example, pupils can not exchange ideas with their classmates or receive peer support. As the result, students may also lack the motivation and element of competition during online lessons.

On the other hand, I support the idea that online lessons are becoming a more and more positive trend in educational institutions. Online courses provide a flexible timing and less budgeted learning for students. Hence, students are allowed to schedule their own study progress and to have their tuitions including equipments and facilities reduced. Furthermore, online courses supply more educational opportunities for students living in remote areas or being grounded with other commitments such as work, taking care of their children or siblings. For instance, various students in rural areas of Vietnam now can possibly enroll on degree programs offered by American universities on some specific websites.

As the result, Internet-platform-based courses are evidently becoming a positive development of education. To sum up, while it is evident that networked lessons are disadvantageous somehow, their advantages are undoubtedly considered to outweigh their drawbacks.