In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment.

To what extent do you agree?

It is thought by some that in a few communities crimes that committed by teenagers is increasing as a result many people suppose that juveniles should be punished equally with adults for committing common crimes. In my opinion, while rigorous punishment might prevent future crimes, having punishment system that based on the background, is the key.

Firstly, it must be admitted that having equal punishment laws for teenagers might prevent future crimes. These is because before admitting any crime juveniles will be informed that will get tough punishment, as a result they will think many times whether commit crime or not. Without rigorous laws teenagers will take it as advantage and repeat crimes in future.

Another point to consider is that some crimes teenagers commit under pressure or influence by bad friends or companies. When young adults get into bad company or watch many movies about crime authorities, they tend to commit crimes as they do not clearly understand what is bad and they might for example steal something. In such cases they should not be punished as adults they should get light punishment and law education.

Finally, the best solution would be introduce flexible punishment law for teenagers and children. For example, when juvenile committed light crime for the first time they should be sent to special schools where they will learn law and make some public works in order to understand that it is immoral. In contrast, if a teenager committed a serious crime or it was light crime but for the second time, they should be punished as adults. As a result, our society will become safer.