Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Gap year or a year between leaving school and starting university that is usually spent travelling or apply for a part-time job is no longer an unfamiliar definition and it can be said that nowadays gap year has become a tendency among the population, especially the pupils. From my perspective, this phenomenon brings both the beneficial as well as adverse impacts on a student

On the one hand, there is a variety of advantages that came from the gap year. First and foremost, taking a year off may make you a more independent and responsible person. It seems to be shreds of evidence that experiencing different ways of living help student to learn, appreciate and reflect themselves in various aspects that not possible before. Take participating in a part-time job for example. By understanding the value of money, pupils are more likely to use their budget in proper purposes rather than squandering them. Another benefit of taking a gap year is that it provided youngsters with an invaluable opportunity to train soft skills. It is irrefutable that there is a wide range of practical abilities that cannot be taught at school but only when coping with real-life circumstances. Communicating, cooperating with others or problem-solving, to mention but a few.

Nevertheless, the severe impacts of gap year should not be underestimated. In the first place, it may require financial stability. By the way of illustration, travelling in a gap year may lead the traveller to struggle financially or even shrunk into serious debt. It is widely believed that this money should be invested the tuition fees for higher education. Secondly, in many nations, the high-school academic learning and the outline subjects in the university are closely correlated with each other. Therefore, taking a gap year may result in the students gradually forgot their knowledge and, consequently, found it even more difficult to keep up with a brand new and dense curriculum from college.

To sum up, the gap year may present a more independent and responsible student as well as provide them with a variety of life skills. However, it also needs a lot of money and also causes them a great deal of difficulty when recalling the knowledge they learn in high school