Some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowl

Before entering whether university or college many youngsters are often advised to take gap years for work experience. However, despite the fact it has advantages in the form of the understanding value of money and realizing own vocation, it has several drawbacks such as low income and lost habit to study which will be examined in this essay.

It is clear that the first job and as well as the first income may give rise to understanding the real value of money. This is because adolescents make their own money and tend to cover their own expenses and also probably save for tuition fees. This not only increases their confidence and enhance their self-esteem, as young people may become independent of their parents’ pocket money but also it seems to appreciate the real value of the money as their labour is paid. In addition, having a gap year between education may directly responsible for the definition of would-be student’s vocation. In other words, gaining knowledge and acquiring experience in a particular area would contribute to realizing future main subjects at the university. For instance, working on a farm and learning animal husbandry, my friend has made the right decision to become a veterinarian after a year off.

Nevertheless, despite the upside associated with taking a job before college, there are plenty of downsides. Firstly, underpaid jobs are perhaps the only job that can be offered to inexperienced and uneducated young employees. This would mean that hard work would never be appreciated and conscientious labour would never be properly paid. For this reason, it only may deteriorate and disappoint them before adulthood life, instead of reinforcing their diligence. Secondly, it seems that habit to study may disappear inasmuch. That is to say, they not only lose their academic experience replacing them on new work experience but also do not return to a life of study after time off. This is short term decision can cause some to bypass university altogether and occupy low-paid jobs without better job prospects.

In conclusion, taking a job from studies can be advantageous as it allows them to grasp the real value of work and helps to realize future profession, however, there are disadvantages such as low-wages work and not returning to study altogether.