After finishing school some students go travelling or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university Do you think the advantages of gap years outweigh the disadvantages

Before being enrolling whether university or college many youngsters believe that gap years for travelling and gaining work experience should be taken. However, despite the obvious drawbacks such as losing habit to study and desire to stick to a strict schedule, it has advantages such as realizing personal vocation that might be beneficial not to choose the wrong career path.

To begin with, taking a gap may bring about losing academic momentum. It would mean that having been out of school for an extended period of time, would-be students may find it hard to get back into a strict syllabus, take exams, and write papers. In addition, it can affect their academic performance due to difficulties related to memorizing a lot of information after long days off, which in turn make them less confident and decrease their self-esteem. Thus, it probably may lead to being disappointed in the learning and seems to end up dropping out of university altogether.

Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned disadvantages associated with taking a gap year for travelling and working, there are several pluses. Firstly, it tends to may increase self-awareness and understanding of personal vocation. This is because exploring different countries and taking part in jobs may contribute to learning something new and gaining experience and getting insights into own behaviours and future career paths. This is important because realizing their vocation may give rise to making the right decision and do not spend time getting undesirable professions and helps to save time to work on a dead-end job in the future.

In conclusion, taking a gap year instead of going directly to university seems to have disadvantages such as losing diligence to study, however, the advantages of grasping own prospects and desirable vocation outweigh drawbacks.