Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Along with collecting information related to professional qualities, employers tend to also find out some private details such as marital status or hobbies. It is often argued that this is a positive tendency, while others disagree and think it will lead to adverse ramifications. In this essay, both points of view will be examined and will state that data-gathering of personal information in many respects might give rise to create a motivated workforce.

It is clear that personal information may be used as a crucial factor in hiring rather than professional qualities. In other words, despite equal experience and capability, details about marital status as well as interests may stand employees out among the crowd or even discriminate against them. It can be best exemplified by a recent study, where it is told that personality traits such as love for pets or having children are believed to be a straightforward way to determine reliability and responsibility of applicants: otherwise, it may be considered as their disadvantage

However, gathered personal information may be beneficial in creating an effective team of workers. Firstly, compiled lists of interests would be used as a positive reinforcement which may not only improve motivation and commitment but also enhance job satisfaction. To illustrate this point, perks in the form of subsidized membership of sports clubs for those who are very keen on doing sport, provide positive reasons to be diligent. In addition, supplying the necessary support to employees according to the private details, work/life balance would be achieved. It is therefore clear that awareness of personal information is a worthwhile tool to boost people’s spirits to work harder.

In conclusion, although some people are in the opinion that gathering personal data may affect the bias in hiring, I disagree. From my point of view, private information may bring about creation motivated teamwork.