Some teachers say that students should be organized into groups to study while others argue that students should be made to study alone. Tell the benefits of each study method. Which one do you think is more effective?

It is well acknowledged that students are the future of any nation. Presently, some teachers claim that group study approach is a lucrative way to make students successful learners. By contrast, others assert that studying alone would bring more fruitful results. Here, I would like to account for both the views with my own perception.

There are manifold points to shore up the former approach. Initially, studying in batches provide pupils with the opportunity to share their ideas with other members. To illustrate, children tend to brainstorm their views and thoughts while doing their assignments and projects together and thus come out with more of creative solutions to problems. Consequently, they can broaden the horizon of their knowledge and learn in much lesser time. Moreover, pupils can develop negotiation skills such as making a point, agreeing or disagreeing with others and asking questions where necessary.

On the flip side, various points can be mentioned to support the latter view. To begin with, students will have no distractions when they study on their own. To elaborate, they would not be able to indulge in unnecessary talking and can fully concentrate on their study in a much better way. This is especially helpful in subjects like math and science. As a result, this method will fetch the students more fruitful results in their academics. Furthermore, it also enhances confidence in students and ability to solve one’s own problems. Apart from it, juveniles may become more competitive which is a mandatory trait required in today’s cut throat era of competition.

From my notion, both the approaches have their own importance. However, I still believe that teachers should encourage students to mix and match both the methods to avail lucrative outcomes. Boring subjects such as history and philosophy should be studied together in groups whereas subjects requiring concentration should be studied on individual basis.

To recapitulate, it can be stated that we cannot fix a particular method for studying in all situations. Teachers can use their judgments to decide whether to organize the students in a group or to make them study individually.