Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, with the boom in the field of information technology, several online courses are available to the students at the university level of education. It is often debated whether this form of online education has its merits or its demerits. However, in my opinion, it has a definite positive effect on the student community which I will discuss over the course of my essay.

Undoubtedly, online courses offered by various universities have their own advantages. Firstly, the internet has been linking people from all parts of the globe together. Due to these online courses, students from different parts of the world get a chance to study in the world-renowned universities which are far away from their hometown. This, in turn, is very economical and convenient for the students. Moreover, deprived students can continue their quest for knowledge through these online courses which save them the money because those courses are usually much cheaper than the traditional courses which need to use variety of costly facilities at university. Last but not least, it enables professionals to pursue higher studies to improve their job opportunities. To specify, most of the management colleges offer online management courses which help working people to improve their qualification without quitting their job.

Having said that, it is also true such online courses have few drawbacks. Like, online courses are unsuitable for subjects that need practical hands-on experience. For example, science subjects like physics, chemistry, and biology involve a lot of laboratory-based exercises that cannot be fulfilled through online teaching.

To conclude, I believe that online courses offered by universities greatly help the students to pursue higher education and their advantages clearly outweigh their shortcomings