In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people Around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

The terms of poverty, starvation and hunger seem to be ever-lasting terms from the beginning of life. Meanwhile, there are some short-term and also long-term solutions considered by authorities to ameliorate the issue of hunger.

First of all, having an efficient agriculture needs suitable weather condition and high soil quality beside the technologies used for growing and harvesting. For example, there are bare and barren lands that suffer from lack of rich nutrients and water as a result of long-lasting droughts, following famine for residents of the area. Therefore, if livelihood of people living in these areas depends on farming, they may suffer from hunger after finding their lands unfarmable because there is nothing to find for eating. The second point is that there are countries with rich soil and good weather conditions, and also use high technological farming methods for producing their agricultural products. However, governments monopolize the mentioned products and buy them for lower prices from farmers and export them for developed countries with considerable prices to increase their own profits. Therefore, trades of these commodities inject money to the pocket of authorities and people become deprived of benefits, causing poor living conditions and leading to poverty and then suffering from hunger to some extent.

Turn to possible solutions, the short-term method could be diverting the revenues coming from exporting products to the society as a whole, and also considering distribution of agricultural yields with an appropriate price among people at first, and if the supply meets the demand, think about exporting products. The second remedy would be that wealthy countries consider a quota system for helping agriculturally deprived areas in the long term to save the residents’ life. However, it is compulsory to help them by distributing food instead of sending them money because it has been seen that the corruption of local authorities has been the most significant obstacle of having money in the hands of people.

To sum up, agriculture play a paramount role in people’s life. However, technological growth can not solve the problem of hunger, and other supplementary roles should be considered ranging from rich soil and good weather condition to the governments.