In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this case? What can be done about this problem?

Why hunger as well as malnutrition are still one of the biggest social issues in the word full of cutting-edge technologies and the advanced agricultural practices? There exist two main underlying factors to this problem. First, it is cheap labor used by giants of international trade, while the second is lack of infrastructure in the areas where hunger prospers. After the deeper discussions of these causes, the practical changes could be introduced in this essay.

As for the first cause, one can assume that a great variety of multinational companies, despite the fact that they have already achieved large capitalization rates, are still bent on rising the capital by some unsustainable ways. For example, Mars Corporation, being one of the leaders in confectionary industry, was not long ago accused of using cheap labor in China. This practice, besides being unethical, also mitigates all the advanced technologies used in agriculture by simply paying relatively tiny wages to Chinese workers, resulting in hunger in certain areas, since people just do not have funds to buy food.

Secondly, advances made in agriculture in some developed countries have no connection with infrastructure and agricultural work in developing ones. The areas in Brazil or Mongolia which, however, have highly favorable for agriculture soil, are still undeveloped and lack technology, meaning the population of these areas is also deeply depend on the weather conditions. For instance, when the weather is good, people have sufficient level of harvest, but over a span of bad weather conditions, the residents have nothing to it. Moreover, there is no advanced polices, according to which developed countries would help areas in which hunger is a usual thing, that have proved itself sufficient.

Going to the possible resolution to this problem, one can name special regulations to be lifted by the states or even by well-known world organizations, such as Greenpeace or OUN. The aim of such regulation should be prohibition of cheap labor and overuse of resources of developing countries. Fair trade principles could help on one dimension, but still there are companies with wholehearted aim to raise money by any means. As a result, they just do not pay any attention to these principles; and only strict bans could force them to conform to the fair-trade policy. In addition, the programs under which developed countries with advanced auriculate should provide permanent support to the areas of malnutrition should be introduced, since it is the only way to fulfill the food need of some poorer areas.

After the discussion of aforementioned causes and methods, it is of great importance to say that hunger issue is assumed to be the global problem. Advances made in agriculture should be widespread and cover not only the developed economies but also some poor regions. The only way to do it is to unite the resources and lend the hand to those in need without waiting to anything back.