In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Nowadays, although there have been many signs of progress in the field of agriculture, numerous people in the world still have to suffer from starvation. Personally, I believe that the main causes of this phenomenon are overpopulation and climate change and it is possible to address this problem by education and collaboration policies.

There are two main culprits that lead to famine in many countries. Firstly, the boom in population is becoming more and more common in several countries in the world, especially those who are poor. This is because the continued rise in population results in greater demands for food and the development of agriculture cannot catch up with the requirement of residents. For example, these days, in some developing countries like India, despite the advances made in farming, the rapid growth of population makes it difficult for the agriculture to provide enough food for all citizens of the country. In many rural areas, millions of people were killed by famine every year. Additionally, climate change is also responsible for rising global hunger. Natural disasters have been undermining several efforts in agriculture. Take an example in some extreme weather events like land degradation and water scarcity, in Africa, it had not been rained for years, which makes it impossible for farmers to grow any crops. Consequently, they had to deal with food shortage in the coming years. Obviously, dramatic population rise and climate change are the two main reasons for this issue.

However, this problem can still be tackled if some measures are taken seriously and instantly. First of all, governments should educate citizens about the necessity of family planning. With a better understanding of the population, people will be more aware of giving birth. For instance, the Chinese government have brought in population policies in recent years to notify its residents of giving birth effectively with only one child per family. And now they finally succeed in taking over their population. Secondly, rich countries should help the poor countries in dealing with the consequence of natural disasters and also share agricultural technology.

In conclusion, overpopulation and climate change are the two main causes of the food shortage in today’s world, which can be solved by education and the support of developed nations.