Students are becoming more and more reliant on computers. What are some of the problems associated with reliance on computers, and what are some of the possible solutions?

With advancement of technology, every aspect of computers has altered. While some proponents argue that there are some issues related to higher reliance to computers as students, I believe that this phenomenon can be addressed by practical ways in the future.

It is undeniable that children too much rely on computers nowadays and it creates negative repercussions. Firstly, it is hard for students to socialize with other people since they do not develop face to face relationships. According to recent research, 7 out of 10 teenagers in Canada make friends through SNS such as Twitter, Facebook, and Snapchat even though they do not exactly know each other’s name and age. Furthermore, student’s health status will decrease because many of them do not go outside using computers, which triggers inactive lifestyles. Because of this, most children suffer from trivial diseases such as headaches and stomachaches.

However, there are several methods to deal with the problems. First and foremost, parents should manage the time that children use computers as it is hard for children to control themselves. If parents award them when they reduce using time of computers, it might be useful to change their lifestyles. Also, schools should help students get diverse hobbies except for computers. The majority of middle schools in South Korea, for instance, provide after-school classes such as playing sports games and watching movies, which contributes to decrease student’s use of computers.

In conclusion, although there are a variety of issues, I contend that it could be tackled by some ways from parents and schools in the future.