Task 2: The best way to ensure the growth of children is to make parents take parenting courses. Do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are always divided as to what measures parents should adopt and implement to guarantee the development of their children. Many individuals hold a firm belief that it is of great importance to require parents to attend parenting courses, and this should be viewed as the best solution. Personally, while I acknowledge several benefits of such courses, I also contend that there might be alternatives which demand equal consideration.

On the one hand, those who advocate the idea of each parent taking up parenting training sessions have demonstrated their compelling reasons. They believe that parents, especially couples with newborns, are likely to be equipped with profound fundamentals concerning childcare and health issues by means of parenting courses. this might share a causal relationship with a child’s comprehensive development owing to the fact that parents can thoroughly understand how to cater their child’s demands and address health-related issues such as coughing, respiratory system issues and eye conditions at home if medical assistance from doctors is temporarily unavailable. Another merit of parenting courses is deemed to link to the supervision of experienced experts and specialists. Thanks to valuable lessons and shared knowledge from leading figures in the field of medicine and education, parents, regardless of age and background, are believed to accumulate hand-on experience, thus laying a solid foundation for their child-upbringing journey in the long run.

On the other hand, other domestic and social factors should also play a pivotal role in ensuring the growth of children. From a domestic perspective, it is recommended that novice parents consult their grandparents, who underwent the entire child-rearing process before, and therefore can envision what is the best for a child’s overall development. From a social perspective, the parent-school bond needs tightening via parent-teacher conference and daily attendance check. An explanation for this measure might stem from the fact that parents might support their child financially and mentally, whereas school - a miniature society – is where a child acquires interpersonal skills through social contacts and develop their physicality with the aid of extracurricular activities. Accordingly, grandparents and school are an indispensable part of nurturing a child besides the role of parents.

In conclusion, although I highly value the significance of parenting courses in terms of in-depth childcare principles and the presence of professionals, I also highlight other equally important options namely the consultation of grandparents and better parent-school relationship to enable children to grow both mentally and physically.