Task 2: In the modern world, people no longer need to use food or products from animals, such as medicine and clothing. Do you agree or disagree with that statement?

In this day and age, many hold the view that the use of animals to produce food and various products in different aspects of society namely clothing and medicine is no longer necessary. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly side with this view and will discuss several compelling reasons in this essay.

these days, advocates of reducing meat intake as the primary food source in daily meals should have their belief justified. In fact, there is a growing concern over the issue related to life-threatening cancers and cardiovascular disease, two of which might be caused by excessive consumption of red meat on a regular and long-term basis. this seems to reflect poor health conditions amongst consumers, raising the demand for appropriate changes in human diets with a view to addressing meat-related health challenges and improving public health. As a result, a myriad of alternative meat products are available in the market. A typical example of these alternatives is apparently exemplified through a plant-based diet, which is scientifically proven to provide the same number of nutrients for consumers as a meat-based diet. If a person consumes mushroom and tofu regularly, their body will still function extremely well on account of high levels of protein in these two ingredients, once thought to be exclusively found in meat.

Furthermore, alternatives have been introduced to gradually replace animal products in medical sector and clothing industry. In particular, medical experiments on animals have long been criticised for their inhumanity and brutality, causing animals to suffer for human personal gains. I firmly believe that modern medicine is likely to express a preference for plant-based treatment through the use of herbs and unique plant types such as ginseng to cure diseases, prolong human life expectancy and aid medical practitioners. To a certain extent, the idea of using plants in medicine triggers a change in the attitude of fashion industry. A large number of designers are currently attempting to experiment on plant materials to manufacture high-end clothing lines and accessories, thus safeguarding endangered species including tigers and crocodiles against being killed for fur and skin to cater the needs for luxury coats and handbags.

In conclusion, I personally contend that animals should not be taken as a material in fashion industry and medicine, or consumed in our daily meals. alternatives to animal products are available in form of plants, which seems a better and more humane option to be experimented and further developed in the long run.