Teachers used to convey information, but now with wide resources of information, there is no role for teachers to play in modern education. Do you agree or disagree?

The arrival of the digital era was so rapid that we have not yet managed to cope with all the consequences, as such it has affected the traditional education system too, where teachers are believed to losing their role. However, I disagree with the view that teachers have lost their importance in education because of the wide resources such as the internet. I firmly believe that teachers are as important as before and even more so. In the following paragraphs I shall put forth my arguments to support my views.

It is irrefutable that computer and internet have made possible distance education and on-line education. In this regard, computers are a boon for the handicapped, those living in remote areas and those in job. They can study any time of the day or night because of the internet. This has made education approachable for many who cannot for some reason or the other attend a college or university.

On the other hand, I still feel that teachers can never lose their importance. In learning and practice of more complex ideas, the computer is not adequate. It can tell if the answer is right or wrong but it cannot tell where the student went wrong. Tasks involving reasoning cannot be taught using computers. Moreover, teachers add their own knowledge gained through experience to that of books and other resources.

Furthermore, teachers can stimulate interest and it is an undeniable fact that interested stimulated people tend to learn more. They can keep students focused on study. A student studying by himself may get bored and stop studying. Teachers can provide a faster and simpler way to present information to the students. They can come down to the level of a student and so are definitely better than computers. What is more, teachers are role models for students. They are scholars in action. They not only teach academic subjects, but also many social skills.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that there is no doubt that modern resources have changed education from a teacher-oriented one to a student-centered one, but teachers will always hold their importance and can never be replaced by any technology.