A tendency that the news reported in the media focuses on problems and emergencies rather than positive developments is harmful to both the individuals and the society. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays due to the ubiquity of devastating data, journalists are reporting about them. This phenomenon can have negative effect on people's perception, hence on their mood. However, I partly agree with this assertion due to the various reasons which we will be explained further.

On the one hand, bad news in newspapers help people to raise their awareness about catastrophic events and problems we are facing with. Therefore, writing a report about them is elaborated strategy. For example, numerous newspapers like The New scientist, The economist, The Times magazine are publicly discussing about pressing matters , namely, global warming and its concerns, hence most factors contributing to temperature rise have been eliminated.

However, in some cases these data can be detrimental for people’s health. In other words, while reading shocking news people can be influenced by negative information which may have adverse effect on individuals’ mood, consequently, it can cause Parkinson’s or Alzheimer’s disease, also it can cause depression, as an example it was reported that latest breaking news about the death of ten million of people put the pressure on many people.

Moreover, as terrible news affects people, it will have undeniable impact on one's work performance. To make it clearly, usually after reading magazines with awful news, they are concerned about them and make less effort to be concentrated on work, as a consequence, working capacity decreases and this can lead to more serious problems. For example, in 1972, news about the possibility of a crisis caused chaos, which worsened employees' performance and made a crisis possible.

To sum up, it is imperative that media reports both positive and negative news without any bias and exaggeration. Notwithstanding, I think that except a few advantages of bad news, their impact are harmful both for our health and work-performance.