There are many competitions organized for school students every year. It is believed that taking part in these competitions benefits teenagers a lot. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When competitions organized for school students every year comes into view, it has always been a controversy topic. Some believe that these competitions bring battery benefits to teenagers. From my point of view I partly agree with this idea for these following reasons.

On the one hands it is of vital significance to point out the advantages that these competitions bring to teenagers. Firstly organizing these competitions offers a good opportunity for teenagers to improve the knowledge. Students have their knowledge checked and judged properly and carefully why participating in these contests. Moreover they can make new friends and exchange their knowledge each other to weed and then range of knowledge. According to the recent statistic of the Times News, 75% of students, who took part in regular contests organized at schools, have more steady and advanced knowledge than those who didn't (in 2014). Secondly, enrolling in those competitions helps to improve teenagers' kills. They need self confidence self discipline and self study skills in order to gain a victory in a competition. Moreover, a huge determination will be formed gradually through each time they compete with others. Asides from that, they have chances to learn to deal with pressures of a competition since they all have winners and losers. These skills can contribute greatly to their future life and help them to adapt to a new life, which can be a university life, with ease. Briefly, those competitions do bring lots of benefits to teenagers.

On the other hands, these contests can also bring disadvantages. One of the drawbacks that shouldn't be ignored is that these contests increase pressure and tense of students. Since competitions all have rankings and prizes, students have to spend lots of time improve their knowledge and skills. Furthermore, they have to compete with others due to the desire for winning or being at the top of the rankings. Additionally, reputations can also affect badly to students' behavior due to the pressures of maintaining or prolonging their first place. Another disadvantage worth mentioning is that the desire for winning encourages them to cheat or even commit crime. Teenagers can do everything to get the awards without taking their actions into full consideration. For instance, a teenager involved in a swimming contest can hide their opponents' googles or even take some dangerous forbidden drugs to boost his health. Those actions seem quite harmless but they can pose far-ranging effects to those teenagers which makes up a bad aspect of competitions.

In conclusion, from all above mentioned reasons, it is my firm belief that competitions organized for school students every year bring both benefits and drawbacks. It actually depends on students or teenagers their own to outweigh which side of joining a competition.