There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need
music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international
music that is heard everywhere nowadays?
It is true that a rich variety of musical styles can be found around the world. Music is a
vital part of all human cultures for a range of reasons, and I would argue that traditional
music is more important than modern, international music.
Music is something that accompanies all of us throughout our lives. As children, we are
taught songs by our parents and teachers as a means of learning language, or simply
as a form of enjoyment. Children delight in singing with others, and it would appear that
the act of singing in a group creates a connection between participants, regardless of
their age. Later in life, people’s musical preferences develop, and we come to see our
favourite songs as part of our life stories. Music both expresses and arouses emotions
in a way that words alone cannot. In short, it is difficult to imagine life without it.
In my opinion, traditional music should be valued over the international music that has
become so popular. International pop music is often catchy and fun, but it is essentially
a commercial product that is marketed and sold by business people. Traditional music,
by contrast, expresses the culture, customs and history of a country. Traditional styles,
such as ...(example)..., connect us to the past and form part of our cultural identity. It
would be a real pity if pop music became so predominant that these national styles
disappeared.
In conclusion, music is a necessary part of human existence, and I believe that
traditional music should be given more importance than international music.