There is a growing demand for freshwater nowadays and this is becoming aglobal problem. Discuss the possiblecauses for it. What measures can betaken by governments and individuals toovercome this problems?

In the modern world, the scarcity of water has become a heated problem across the world. The increase in the world population may be the main culprit of this alarming trend, but some definite measures could be taken to prevent it from further exacerbated.

There is no doubt that the increased demand for freshwater is associated with the boom of the population size. This reason leads to rapid water request in three different sectors namely agriculture, industry and households. Regarding agricultural industry, the irrigation consumes a large amount of water. Also, people now have a tendency of using all types of poisonous chemicals and pesticides for their farming, which warns the natural water distribution. In many parts of the world, many factories and industry in general use a huge water supply for their operations. It has been reported by a US newspaper that steel manufacturing processes in this country are in great demand for a huge amount of water, which poses a threat to the capability of providing people with enough drinking water in the near future. From the household perspectives, people are more in need of water usage because of the pressure of rapid population growth, which contributes to worsen the situation.

Despite the devastating degradation of water, some feasible solutions should be implemented by both the governments and individuals. In reference to government's agenda, it is extremely serious for countries's states to control the increasing rate of population growth. Firstly, government should set out rules such as a protocol to deal with the population explosion. That is the way that China, for example, has recently followed. In particular, China has set the law of limitation on the number of offspring a couple can have. With the restriction on the number of children in each family, China has sucessfully reduced the rate of population boom, and that has in turn cut down the resulting damages in water provision and living environment. The government also need to build water pine systems to encourage citizens to reuse recycled water. In respect to individuals' actions, it is important and necessary for residents to save the natural water resources as many ways as possible. For instance, they should reduce the over- consuming of chemical compounds on their fields. Local people should develop the modern recycling system at their own houses to reuse domestic water regularly as well.

In conlusion, the current issue of dealing with the water shortage requires necessary actions of both governments and individuals. While there are many solutions to this problem, the role of the authorities in controlling the population boom and balanced water distribution is indispensable.