There have been many inventions in the human history, such as the wheel. Some people think the most important thing is the internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The proliferation of technology in recent decades has reshaped multi-faceted aspects of human life. It is believed that the internet is the foremost creation of humanity. I somewhat disagree with this view as the role of other inventions are also of great importance.

Apart from the internet, fertilizers and new modes of transportation powered by electricity contributes greatly to the survival and flourishment of humankind. It is a fact that famine is one of the most challenging issue that has plagued humans throughout the history. With the discovery of artificial fertilizers, people are are able to enhance productivity of crops, increase the number of agricultiral products, allowing people to maintain their existence. Additionally, the increasing ubiquity of electric cars are weighed as a game changer in many dimensions. Utilization of the new means of transit can reduce a collosal amount of fume emission from conventional automobile. This not only alleviates the negative implications of the car industry on the ecological equillibrium but relieves people of the constraint of travel by traditional cars thanks to the vehicles' autopilot driving feature.

Admittedly, internet connection has paved the way for the development of other inventions such as smart devices and myriads of applications, enabling unlimited exchange of information worldwide. However, the internet alone can not improve living standards, let alone negative impacts the invention has on the society. This includes psychological illnesses and online cyber attacks. It is therefore not grounded to assert that internet is the most profound creation in the history.

In sum, I object to the belief that internet is the most significant creation of humnanity. While the invention merits people in certain ways, man-made fertilizers guarantee the supply of food and electric vehicles help balance the ecosystem.