These days, mobile phones and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially.Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, a plethora of electronic devices and technologies have been used for socializing. Therefore, they aided people to overcome the distance barrier and know more about each other. On the other hand, they resulted in weaker relationships due to the lack of physical communication. In my opinion, these technologies are immensely beneficial for our social life, but we have to use them wisely in order to preserve our relationships.

Due to the existence of several ways of communication, people are not keen on meeting each other frequently which resulted in fragile relationships. Since the smartphones allow people to see each other through video calls and live pictures, they feel as if they are living together, and they do not have to cut long distances in the pursuance of seeing each other. One salient example, people who are living in another continent away from their families rarely travel back to their hometown due to the easy connection between them and their relatives. Consequently, tenuous relations are produced resulting from the absence of physical contact.

Owing to the fact, that most employees do not have enough time to socialize, phone calls and social media could help them to contact with each other. Unfortunately, because of the rapid lifestyle that is common in most of the developed countries nowadays, people scarcely meet each other. For instance, labors who are using their physical potential during their work will be too exhausted to stroll out with their friends after finishing their work, instead of that, they tend to keep in touch with their friends by voice call or electronic messages

To sum up, mobile phones and the internet may have some prejudicial effects on our relationships, however, they are crucial to reach friends and relatives wherever they exist to socialize in a modern way that suits the current lifestyle.