These days people in some countries are living in a “throw-away” society, which means people use things in a short time and then throw them away. Causes and problems.

Human society has witnessed a tremendous transformation since decades ago. However, nowadays people lives in a “throw away” society, this suggests the life span of things or items which people utilize become shorter than before. In the following essays, I would explicit the possible reasons for this problem and the consequence it brings about.

First and foremost, the ideology of the consumerism is the culprit of the issue. People constantly purchase the goods in order to satisfy their own desire of materialistic possession. Therefore, the old items or commodities which people buy are replaced and discarded. The ever-changing cell phones is a compelling example for the issue─People are inclined to buy for new cell phones when the latest design is introduced. The duration of use of the cell phone become shorter than before, curtailing from 18 months to 1 year, compared to previous year. As a result, people have a tendency to dispose of still useful items more frequently.

This “throw away” culture often inflicts grave ramifications in the future. On one hand, it would aggravate the environmental degradation. Since more and more items and goods are discarded, our environment is filled with ever-increasing amount of rubbish which people struggle to dispose of. Accordingly, environmental problem such as pollution inevitably arise. Take China for example, the amount of waste which China creates has exceeded the average amount of waste created by Europe. On the other hand, the depletion of natural resources is another serious consequence. For instance, in order to satisfy more generation and population, the natural resources such as wood and metal are massively exploited.

By way of conclusion, as argued above, it is imperative that every individual should reflect on the issue which we are encountering. Though it is virtually impossible to eradicate the consumerism, there are still viable solutions to at least mitigate the repercussion.