These days some people spend a lot of money on tickets to go to sporting or cultural events.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Spending money on sports and cultural events is not new. However, a new trend has been formed among a group of people in societies. They spend lots of money to go to sporting and cultural events. I believe it has more drawbacks than earning. Nevertheless, via the weighing of gains and losses, I will demonstrate that this is a negative trend.

Activities such as world cup, Olympics, and Concerts have their own fans and they strongly support them as they cause the flow of money and it helps the economy of the host society, while their effect is extremely short-term and they cause pollution in those societies. Consequently, it imposes an undesirable cost for treating many who become sick due to pollution. The waste has been produced during these events not only does not disposed properly but they are usually left in the suburb and rural areas.

Another con is those who spend their money on these activities have less money to spend on some more important activities such as educational and family activities. A research shown that these types of people remarkably suffer from a bad economic situation and most of them have difficulty in their relations with families and friends. As a result, they are unhealthy psychologically.

To sum, the disadvantages of putting money on tickets for sports and cultural events dramatically overweight its benefits. It is recommended that governments use media to educate people better and alert them about the consequences.